2023-25 NCWorks Commission Committees

Employer Leadership Committee

This committee supports strategies to ensure the workforce development system is visible, relevant, efficient, and easy to access by employers. The committee strives to connect employers to qualified, work-ready employees through meaningful partnerships with the workforce system.

Jeff Frederick, Chair	Governor Josh Stein	Greg Thompson
Olalah Njenga	(Designee-Kindl Detar)	Cheryl Richards
Christopher Arabia	Jeff Cox	Tammy Simmons
Kim Toler	(Designee-John Loyack)	Pam Townsend

Staff: Ken Allen

Skills and Educational Attainment Committee

This committee identifies strategies, policies, and other activities to ensure North Carolina has the workforce needed for a strong and vibrant economy. It also seeks to identify and promote strategies that support credential attainment and career advancement.

Sherry Carpenter, Chair	Gabe Esparza	Sharene Pierce
Shawn Brown	(Designee-Candace Lowry)	Sandra M. Thompson
Steven Hunt	Mo Green	Darla D. McGlamery
Himanshu Karvir	(Designee-TBD)	

Staff: Tracie Ford

Governance and System Alignment Committee

This committee supports strategies and oversees activities that foster a more aligned and responsive system that is easy to access and customer oriented. The committee focuses on using data to drive strategies, measure performance, increase transparency, and improve accountability of the system. The committee promotes collaboration, policy alignment, innovation, and communication among workforce system agencies and partners.

Dev Sangvai, Chair	Peter Hans	Hope Williams
(Designee-Chris Egan)	(Designee-Byron Hicks)	Rodney Carson
Christopher Gergen	Lee Lilley	Nikki Nissen
	(Designee-Andrea DeSantis)	Paul Lawler

Staff: James Bain

Local Innovation Committee

This committee identifies leadership opportunities for the advancement of workforce professionals, while promoting the replication of creative solutions through local innovation.

Cynthia Speight, Chair	Suzanne Johnson	Daniel L. Briggs	
Rebecca Axford	Jim Hartman	John Wesley Davis IV	
Mark Richardson	Marti Matthews Martin	Robert Doreauk	

Staff: Veronica H. Green