2023-25 NCWorks Commission Committees

Employer Leadership Committee

This committee supports strategies to ensure the workforce development system is visible, relevant, efficient, and easy to access by employers. The committee strives to connect employers to qualified, work-ready employees through meaningful partnerships with the workforce system.

Jeff Frederick, Chair Governor Roy Cooper Greg Thompson
Olalah Njenga (Designee-Dayson Pasion) Cheryl Richards
Christopher Arabia Machelle Baker Sanders Tammy Simmons
Jeff Cox (Designee-D. Jordan Whichard IV) Pam Townsend
(Designee-John Loyack) Kim Toler

Staff: Ken Allen

Skills and Educational Attainment Committee

This committee identifies strategies, policies, and other activities to ensure North Carolina has the workforce needed for a strong and vibrant economy. It also seeks to identify and promote strategies that support credential attainment and career advancement.

Sherry Carpenter, Chair Pamela B. Cashwell Sharene Pierce
Shawn Brown (*Designee-Candace Lowry*) Sandra M. Thompson
Steven Hunt Catherine Truitt Darla D. McGlamery
Himanshu Karvir (*Designee- Kristie VanAuken*)

Staff: Tracie Ford

Governance and System Alignment Committee

This committee supports strategies and oversees activities that foster a more aligned and responsive system that is easy to access and customer oriented. The committee focuses on using data to drive strategies, measure performance, increase transparency, and improve accountability of the system. The committee promotes collaboration, policy alignment, innovation, and communication among workforce system agencies and partners.

Kody Kinsley, ChairPeter HansHope Williams(Designee-Chris Egan)(Designee-Byron Hicks)Rodney CarsonChristopher GergenPaul LawlerNikki Nissen

Staff: James Bain

Local Innovation Committee

This committee identifies leadership opportunities for the advancement of workforce professionals, while promoting the replication of creative solutions through local innovation.

Cynthia Speight, Chair Suzanne Johnson Daniel L. Briggs
Rebecca Axford Brock Ashburn John Wesley Davis IV
Ronnie Smith Marti Matthews Martin Robert Doreauk

Staff: Veronica H. Green